My success story – Getting my child to eat right!

Last night Mrs.Megha had put up a post in MW group regarding a blogging contest. I initially thought submit an article which I had handy with me but my article was no way related to the topics there. I left it cool . My husband encouraged me and made me complete it. Thanks to Shalu and Kalyani for boosting me up 🙂

The topics were as below

For Moms

  • To have a second child: Why you did or did not do
  • My success story – Getting my child to eat right!
  • My success story- How I control the 3 T’s- Temper, Tears and Tantrums of my little one

For Dads

  • My journey as an evolved dad: Breaking stereotypes
  • Changing role of fathers: Difference between you as a father and your father

My choice was My success story – Getting my child to eat right!. People who know me would have already guessed that I would choose this because I always stress on feeding the baby right and I am foodie/food blogger at www.kitchenkathukutty.wordpress.com.

Here is my piece of article for parentune. Read and let me know your comments 🙂

“Getting my child to eat the Right quantity of Right food at the Right time.” My perception of this topic and the story is great, on-going and endless.
CHOOSING THE RIGHT FOOD:
There are infinite helping hands when it comes to provide advice. I hear and appreciate each. But the final choice of right food for my little world is unto my pediatrician and me. The right food according to me should be healthy cum balanced and must definitely not be processed/ packed/ junk. I never give up on that point and hence I my path towards the right food is always clear. Since the family’s food habit did not differ much, I never had to deter from it.
RIGHT TIME & RIGHT QUANTITY:
The thumb rule for knowing the right time and quantity is “FEED ON DEMAND”. Beyond a certain age I slowly transited his food timings like the elders of the family. Slowly he had his chair in our dining table. This helped him discover food textures, observe our eating habits which in further made him try to eat on his own. As I fed on demand, I got hold of the right quantity in few days time by his expressions. (Now he says very clearly to us “enough“). The motherly intuition and satisfactory feeling also plays a major role in this.
CLIMB THE LADDER GRADUALLY:
I made the transition from breastfeeding to weaning very slowly & steadily. I followed/follow three day wait rule for every new ingredient in his food. This helped/helps me in knowing what ingredients are liked by him and suited him. This aids him in knowing different tastes and relishing them.
NEVER GIVE UP:
The journey is not a bed of roses. There were several hunger strikes, daily tantrums and even mini wars between us. Sometimes it was a phase and sometimes it was adamant/playful nature. Many a times I have ended up going crazy in making him eat. I tried with patience and tried with different tactics, varieties. Few trials even went on for a month long hunger strike. I kept running to break it and every time my PATIENCE AND PERSEVERANCE has been paid so far.
MOM & ME MEALTIME:
When it comes to mealtime, I ensure not involving any gimmicks like carrying him all over/showing him TV/playing. There was/is only three M’s (Myself, My son, Meal). No distraction. So I neither run behind him nor do any performances to make him eat. (Old habits die hard, don’t they?) I was/am strict about timings and quantity but I never attempted to force.
The below point is the mother of all without which the story could have been just a story and not a success story. I am blessed with a supportive, informative and trusting family who completely invested their wholesome confidence in me, very noble doctors who are real angels on earth and above all the unique strength/bond which motherhood gave me.
Thanks for this opportunity Parentune and a special thanks to Megha 🙂

One thought on “My success story – Getting my child to eat right!

Leave a Reply

